When Bon Jovi Walks Up To You…

Jon Bon Jovi....yeah I met him

I know it’s been a week or so since I last posted a blog, but I thought I’d share a little tid-bit about what happened the other day at Larry King Live. Naturally we have very high profile people on the set of our show, and, as you may remember, it’s my job to make sure they have everything they need while visiting CNN. Mostly I answer simple questions like where the bathrooms are and where they can get a coke. And while I do get to interact with the guests (this week it was Arron Spelling’s wife, Candy, Kirsti Alley, and Corey Feldman) I mostly deal with publicists.

A side note about publicists–most of them are real jerks. The first one I ever met wouldn’t shake my hand or look up from her blackberry when she spoke to me. I mean come on…you’re not Brad Pitt’s person. But oddly enough their clients (the famous people) have always been really nice to me.

But this day I was waiting for Tom Arnold with his publicist Greg (who was actually very nice).  This car pulls up to the building and Greg and I are smiling as we wait to greet Mr. Arnold.  Only Tom Arnold does not get out of the car. Three people emerge from the car and the faces of everyone in the building just drop. Without thinking I turned to Greg and said, “Who is that?” This shocked look came over me as he replied, “You’re kidding.” It was then I realized that I didn’t recognize one of the kings of rock and roll, Mr. Jon Bon Jovi himself.

His publicist (who was also very nice)  walked up to me and asked, “Are you here to meet us?” All I could muster in response was a quiet, “uhhhhhh,” as I shook my head. And so Bon Jovi, complete with sun glasses and a smile looked right at me, nodded and proceeded into the building.

Security of course had a field day trying to figure out why Bon Jovi just entered the building. It turned out he just wanted a picture with Larry King. After scrambling to get a camera he took his picture and left the building almost as quickly as he came.  In the meantime the narrow hallway filled with Larry King taking pictures, Tom Arnold and his entourage, Olympic Skiers and their entourages, Mackenzie Phillips, Dr. Drew and everyone trying to figure out what the heck is going on. Just another day on the set.

I learned two things very valuable that day. One, expect the unexpected and always have a camera (which unfortunately I didn’t). And two, even if I don’t recognize famous rock stars right away, pretend I do. Oh and smile at Bon Jovi cause he was super cool and will smile back.

Leave a comment

Filed under CNN in Hollywood

Leave a comment